Skip to main content
Banquet group photo with coaches and staff

Men’s Hockey Awards Banquet

58rd Annual Award Banquet – Lake Watch Inn – 4/14/2019 – Seniors Brendan Smith, Beau Starrett and Alec McCrea with the Coaches and Staff. Seniors Matt Nuttle and Mitch Vanderlann were at ECHL/AHL teams.

The Men’s Hockey Team conducted the 58th Annual Award Banquet at the Lake Watch Inn on Sunday afternoon, April 14, 2019.

Here are the awards and recipients:

  • The Wendell and Francelia Earle Award for Outstanding Academic Achievement
    • An annual award endowed in perpetuity by the Earle Family, honors Wendell, Cornell Professor and team advisor, who was a frequent host of Cornell Hockey players and their families. The award recipients are the team members from each class who have achieved the highest cumulative grade point average.
    • Senior – Mitch Vanderlann
    • Junior – Connor Murphy
    • Sophomore – Kyle Betts
  • The Greg Ratushny Award
    • Presented to the freshman player who best exhibits enthusiasm for both the team and Cornell University, camaraderie with teammates and fellow students, and promise for the future.
    • Michael Regush
  • The Cornell Hockey Association Award
    • Presented to the player whose contribution to the team is not apparent in the box scores. His efforts are more clearly measured in enthusiasm, dedication, desire, and unselfish willingness to give to the team an extra ounce of energy.
    • Connor Murphy
  • The Sam Woodside Award
    • Presented to the senior player who has most improved in overall playing ability and has exhibited team leadership with his play during his career.
    • Matt Nuttle
  • The Mark Weiss Memorial Award
    • Presented to the player who most exemplified from his rookie year through his senior year the same kind of determination and passion that the outstanding young athlete, Mark Weiss, had for life and hockey.
    • Alec McCrea
  • The Ironman Award
    • Presented to the team member who, in spite of being bruised, broken, spliced, or otherwise hurt, most demonstrated the will and determination to overcome injury and contribute to the team.
    • Brendan Smith
  • The Bill Doran Sportsmanship Award
    • Presented to the Cornell player combining all the best attributes that mean sportsmanship, both on and off the ice, as well as being an excellent competitive player
    • Mitch Vanderlaan
  • The Joe DeLibero-Stan Tsapis Award
    • Presented to the player who most nearly exemplifies the skilled efficiency, unselfish dedication, and hard-nosed competitive applications that distinguishes him as representative of Joe DiLibero’s and Stan Tsapis’ uniqueness.
    • Kyle Betts
  • The Crimson Cup Award
    • Presented to the player whose contribution to the team was outstanding during the season series against Harvard.
    • Tristen Mullin
  • The Nicky Bawlf Award
    • Presented to honor the most valuable player, as determined by a vote of his teammates.
    • Morgan Barron
  • Shutout Awards
    • Matthew Galajda (5)
    • Harvard 1/18/2019
    • @Union – 2/1/2019
    • Clarkson – 2/8/2019
    • Union – 3/16/2019
    • Brown (ECAC Tournament) – 3/22/2019
  • Short Handed Goal
    • Kyle Betts
    • vs. Brown (ECAC Tournament) – 3/22/2019