Skip to main content

Men’s Hockey Awards Banquets

At the end of the hockey season, the team, coaches and staff, and Cornell Hockey Association members gather to celebrate the year and honor the graduating senior class. Awards are given based on votes of the team. Here is a list of those awards and their meanings.

  • The Wendell and Francelia Earle Award for Outstanding Academic Achievement
    • An annual award endowed in perpetuity by the Earle Family, honors Wendell, Cornell Professor and team advisor, who was a frequent host of Cornell Hockey players and their families. The award recipients are the team members from each class who have achieved the highest cumulative grade point average.
  • The Greg Ratushny Award
    • Presented to the freshman player who best exhibits enthusiasm for both the team and Cornell University, camaraderie with teammates and fellow students, and promise for the future.
  • The Cornell Hockey Association Award
    • Presented to the player whose contribution to the team is not apparent in the box scores. His efforts are more clearly measured in enthusiasm, dedication, desire, and unselfish willingness to give to the team an extra ounce of energy.
  • The Sam Woodside Award
    • Presented to the senior player who has most improved in overall playing ability and has exhibited team leadership with his play during his career.
  • The Mark Weiss Memorial Award
    • Presented to the player who most exemplified from his rookie year through his senior year the same kind of determination and passion that the outstanding young athlete, Mark Weiss, had for life and hockey.
  • The Ironman Award
    • Presented to the team member who, in spite of being bruised, broken, spliced, or otherwise hurt, most demonstrated the will and determination to overcome injury and contribute to the team.
  • The Bill Doran Sportsmanship Award
    • Presented to the Cornell player combining all the best attributes that mean sportsmanship, both on and off the ice, as well as being an excellent competitive player
  • The Joe DeLibero-Stan Tsapis Award
    • Presented to the player who most nearly exemplifies the skilled efficiency, unselfish dedication, and hard-nosed competitive applications that distinguishes him as representative of Joe DiLibero’s and Stan Tsapis’ uniqueness.
  • The Crimson Cup Award
    • Presented to the player whose contribution to the team was outstanding during the season series against Harvard.
  • Shutout … Short-handed Goals … Shutouts